Skip to main content

Quality of higher education

The  Croatian higher education system has a long educational tradition preserved primarily through the work of its public universities, which are (in alphabetical order): J. J. Strossmayer University of Osijek, Juraj Dobrila University of Pula, University of Dubrovnik, University of Rijeka, University of Split, University of Zadar and University of Zagreb.

The University of Zadar was the first university in Croatia, founded in 1396. It remained active until 1807, when other higher education institutions took over the activities of the University until the foundation of the renewed University of Zadar in 2002.

The University of Zagreb, founded in 1669, is the oldest continuously operating university in South Eastern Europe.

The biggest universities (the University of Zagreb, University of Split and University of Rijeka) are ranked among top 500 on various ranking lists: THE, ARWU, CWUR.

The Croatian higher education system is structured according to three cycles (undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate) and higher education studies in Croatia are organised according to the system of transferable credits (ECTS), thus making it easier for international students (from Europe and beyond) to study in Croatia and have their studies recognised in their home countries.

The Act on Quality Assurance in Science and Higher Education adopted 2009 established the Agency for Science and Higher Education (ASHE) as the quality assurance agency for higher education in Croatia. The Agency provides the external evaluation of higher education institutions using different types of quality evaluations and on the basis of the European Standards and Guidelines. ASHE is a member of ENQA and listed in EQAR.

Please check the section Study in Croatia for more information about Croatian higher education system, institutions and enrolment.