Study in Croatia!


Government in the Republic of Croatia is organized on the principle of the separation of powers into legislative, executive and judicial.


The Croatian Parliament (Sabor, is a unicameral representative body of citizens, vested with legislative power.  The number of the Sabor's members can vary from 100 to 160 and they are all elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms. The current President of the Parliament is Boris Šprem.

The two largest parliamentary parties in Croatia are the Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ, and the Social Democratic Party of Croatia (SDP, Out of a total of 116 political parties enlisted in the Registry of Political Parties, 13 parties are active in the Croatian Parliament, each with the following number of seats:


The Croatian Government (Vlada, is headed by the Prime Minister who has four deputy prime ministers and seventeen ministers in charge of particular sectors of activity. The executive branch is responsible for proposing legislation and the budget, executing the laws and guiding the foreign and internal policies of the Republic. The current Prime Minister is Zoran Milanović (since 27 December 2011).

The President of the Republic ( is the head of state, directly elected to a five-year term and is limited by the Constitution to a maximum of two terms. In addition to being the commander in chief of the armed forces, the president has the procedural duty of appointing the Prime Minister with the consent of the Parliament and has some influence on foreign policy. The current President is Ivo Josipović (since 18 February 2010).


Judicial power is exercised by the courts of Republic of Croatia. The judiciary is autonomous and independent. The courts administer justice according to the Constitution and law, as well as according to effective international agreements and treaties.